Summertiiiiiime.. (and the Lenting is easyyy)

Yeah, I’m doing ok with this Lent thing. Avoiding chocolate, cake, and biscuits has been fairly simple actually (if we don’t include last night at AS’s birthday where I had some birthday cake… it was a Sunday, and technically you’re allowed to rest from your Lenten pact. I still felt bad, but didn’t want to offend the person who made the cake!) Of course, I’ve managed to find alternatives and replacements for all these things anyway, replacements which are probably much worse for me. But never mind. My favourite so far starts with a piece of fruit (an apple or banana usually, or some tinned peaches or apricots) with a dollop of Greek yoghurt, half a teaspoon of honey and some crushed almonds. A perfect dessert, but, as has been pointed out by just about everybody I’ve told about it, it probably has more calories and sugars than just eating some chocolate, so why bother? Why bother indeed. Still, I shall stick by my pact as well as I can. And I think I shall also start trying to cut down on the replacements that I know are just as bad. The idea here is to get a little bit healthier so with that in mind it’s less sweets and more fruit!

The past 10 days seem to have whizzed by. I haven’t really been overly busy but I’ve been doing things every day to keep myself going. The concert with Canterbury Choral Society (‘Israel in Egypt’) was great fun. A choir of about 100 people plus the Hanover Band and some excellent soloists made for a wonderful performance that was appreciated by all in attendance. And what a stunning building, the Canterbury Cathedral. Immense, grand and stately. And the crypt (where the singers gathered before the performance) is amazing, seeming to stretch on forever. It wouldn’t be hard to get lost down there, and I certainly wouldn’t want to. The following day it was back to St James’ for two services, the usual Sunday. Through the week I just had a few coffee dates with friends, and on Wednesday I met a singer/choral director/conductor that I was put in touch with by a friend back in Melbourne. We chatted for an hour or so, with him asking me what sort of stuff I was hoping to get into while I’m over here, and he has very kindly offered to help out any way that he can. Fingers crossed there! Thursday I sang in a special service at St Mary-Le-Strand for the Feast of the Blessed Virgin Mary, and again I met some lovely new people and we sang the Byrd 5 part mass (one of my favourites) and Ecce virgo concipiet, also by Byrd. You can never have too much Byrd in your life, I think! Saturday I ended up being involved in another bumping situation, this time with the Chigwelian Choral Society out in Epping, the far north-east of London and a good hour and 20 minutes from my house! A lovely group of about 40 mostly senior citizens, we tackled the Duruflé Requiem and Vaughan Williams Benedicite, and pulled both off with a great deal of success I thought! I certainly relished the opportunity to sing the Duruflé again, it’s such a wondrous piece of music, and the audience seemed to really appreciate the choir’s efforts.

The next morning, being Sunday, it was time once again to head to St James’. I had discovered on the train on my way home the previous evening that the clocks had to go forward one hour that night, meaning we would lose an hour of sleep, and given the previous issues that iPhone’s have had in dealing with time changes, I decided to set multiple alarms to ensure I was awake in plenty of time. I set one for the time I actually wanted to wake up (7:45am) and one for an hour earlier in case the clock didn’t change automatically (6:45am) and one another half hour earlier (6:15am) just for good measure, and so I could check the time against a watch borrowed from my housemate! What time did I wake up? 9:30am. What time is rehearsal? 9:30am. What time is the service? 10:30am. What time did I get there? 10:20am. At least I made it, and it least it was a mass I’d sung before! But that is definitely the last time I trust my iPhone for an alarm when the clocks change.

This week I have an audition (I’m not saying for what or when it is just yet), a funeral, a wedding, and two more services on Sunday and then I fly back to Melbourne on Monday. Crazy. I have lots of practice to do!

And I can’t sign off without mentioning the absolutely glorious weather that London has been having over the past week. Unbelievable! And today is no exception. I think I will go and bask in the sunshine out in the back garden.

  1. I can count the days on ONE HAND now! Hooray! Can’t wait to see your face 😀

    • David Bicker
    • March 29th, 2011

    Hi Paul,Just a quick note to say how i enjoyed your Porgy & Bess heading.You seem too be getting quit a bit of work,enough i hope to keep the wolf from the door!!! I see you have worked in some of the most beuatiful churches and cathedrals,they are so awe inspiring arnt they?Well it wont be too long before you are back here so will see you then. Lots of love from your ever admiring G/Father. xoxoxoxoxxo.

    • Frank
    • March 29th, 2011

    Good to hear you’re keeping busy – it’s really nice to read all this.
    When the weather is good in London it can be glorious – let’s hope it lasts for you.
    Looking forward to seeing/hearing you in April.

    • Jess Bentley-Dean
    • March 28th, 2011

    Pauly! I am glad you’re having a splendid time. Please do not forget my tea cups and saucers! There will be cake awaiting your arrival 🙂

    That is all.

    Jess

  2. I read your blog.

    1. YOU STOLE OUR SPANISH WEATHER. We have been getting shitty london style weather. GIVE.IT.BACK! =D
    2.I cants believe you are going back to Melbourne! Busy boy! Keep me most updated while you are there!
    3.make a date to come see meeeeee. Im lonely and need Paul.

    Marzipan

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment